husband.

I am a wife.

My husband is awesome.

I am so incredibly blessed by my husband. He shows me he loves me everyday.

He hears me, and gives Godly, biblical advice. He includes me. My husband surprises me. He is spontaneous. He takes care of me when I am sick. He cleans the kitchen. He prays for me and with me. He tells me I am a great cook, even when I burn the pizza. He is supportive.

I respect the man my husband is, the one he is right now, not who I think he will be in the future. I am learning more of who Jesus is by watching my husband; for that I am most thankful.

I think the two most important decisions we make in life are: 1. Are we going to follow Jesus; 2. Who will we marry? Those choices set the trajectory for our entire life. Step one for me was not am I going to believe in Jesus but am I going to follow Him. From there I have decided to trust that He is a loving God who will show me exactly where He wants me to go. If I do my best to follow what I think Jesus is telling me, although I will fail often, I know that His grace will pour over my life and He won’t make me do it alone.

Marriage is difficult, and Aaron and I completely understand the gravity of the choice that we have made. God does not promise us that if we follow Him everything will be wonderful and we will be happy for the rest of our lives, in fact He tells us that we will face trials and struggles, but it is through those trials that we grow closer to God and are better able to relate and empathize with those around us.

Anthem Photography

We can continue to face those hardships because we know that the time here on earth is pretty short compared to eternity with our creator. I have not faced very many trials or hardships yet but I am certain they are in my future, and I know the only way I will be able to deal with those is with Jesus.

I am not going into this marriage with pink-tinted love goggles on, expecting it to be easy. Aaron and I understand that love is not an emotion like Hollywood would lead us to believe, but instead it is a choice. I choose to love someone, no matter how I might feel about them in the future. I will wake up every morning and remind myself of the choice I made and I will continue to love Aaron because that is the covenant we are entering into. From there, I have no idea what our future entails but I do know that we will take it one phase at a time and we will rely on Jesus to show us what/where and how to live.

The wedding day was the day that we made a public statement to our friends, family and even strangers, that we promise to love each other and to become one family unit living for Jesus.

The point of our marriage, is not our marriage, but instead we want our marriage to be about more than that. We want to be on mission for Jesus, two souls that come together to serve Him. I believe that a marriage based on service, where you put your spouse first, will result in the gift of happiness and joy, but a marriage based on getting happiness and joy out of it will crumble. So we will continue to seek God first and put each other above ourselves (which at times is easier said than done, but we can only promise to try our best, and show grace to each other when we fall short, when not if).

I married Aaron on June 2nd, 2012.

I adore him.

“Marriage is not simply a statement of present love, but a promise of future love.”

“For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave unto his wife, and they shall become one flesh.” – Matthew 19:5

“Love as distinct from ‘being in love’ is not merely a feeling. It is a deep unity, maintained by the will and deliberately strengthened by habit; reinforced by the grace which both partners ask, and receive from God. They can have this love for each other even at those moments when they do not like each other; as you love yourself even when you do not like yourself.” –C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity p.99

“It’s one of those cases where you may win the battle but lose the war. In marriage, it’s either win-win or lose-lose. There is no win-lose. If you both don’t win, you both lose.” – The author of Am I Too Hard on Women?

“Husbands and wives, recognize that in marriage you have become one flesh. If you live for your private pleasure at the expense of your spouse, you are living against yourself and destroying your joy. But if you devote yourself with all your heart to the holy joy of your spouse, you will also be living for your joy and making a marriage after the image of Christ and His church.” – John Piper, Desiring God.

God first.

husband next.

then everything else.

thank you for reading.

– Kelsey

One thought on “husband.

  1. Amazing post Kels! You are starting your marriage off right, which is cool to watch! I can’t wait for more posts. I’d love to learn more about cooking vegan too. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

